"Almost half the population of Britain could be suffering from food intolerance resulting in weight gain, diabetes and other complications."
A gluten food intolerance is the body’s inability to digest or break down the gluten protein found in wheat and certain other grains. Gluten intolerance (also known as a gluten sensitivity) can range from a mild sensitivity to gluten to full-blown celiac disease.
Common foods that regularly contain ingredients with gluten include:
Wheat is one of the main staples of a Western or mediterranean diet (which is one of the healthiest in the world) and is public enemy No. 1 for those with a gluten intolerance. In addition to pure wheat, all of its forms are also off-limits. This includes:
Lactose is a sugar that is a normal part of milk products. Some people do not break down lactose well. They may not have enough lactase, the enzyme that breaks lactose down in the body. Or, their body may make lactase that does not work properly. Following a lactose free diet may prevent these problems. Your caregiver or dietitian can help you decide if you need to be on a lactose free or low lactose diet instead.
The list below show you what foods are good choices in terms of milky food because they contain no lactose:
If you have an intolerance (defined by YorkTest as a food-specific IgG reaction) to egg your body reacts to the protein present in either the white, the yolk or both, it is advisable to avoid eggs altogether and this includes those from duck, quail and goose which have similar proteins to chicken.
There are many products which contain egg, either to bind or to thicken. Being aware of these is important when making changes to optimise your diet. The following list of ingredients can contain egg and should be avoided if you have intolerance:
As an ingredient, egg is often given other names which can make it difficult to identify on product packaging so it’s a good idea to familiarise yourself with these. The following names are also used for egg: